Skip navigation

People on the Move

BY ANQI SHEN | FEB 03 2017

The University of Victoria has reappointed David Capson dean of the faculty of graduate studies, with a five-year term beginning July 1. Dr. Capson holds a PhD in engineering from McMaster University. His research interests include computational vision and vision-based applications in robotics. Vancouver Island University has named Nicole Vaugeois associate vice-president of scholarship, research […]

BY ANQI SHEN | JAN 03 2017

The University of Waterloo has appointed Charmaine Dean vice-president, university research, beginning July 1. Dr. Dean is currently a professor and dean of the faculty of science at Western University. She was previously associate dean at Simon Fraser University and has served as president of the Statistical Society of Canada. Brock University has appointed Alan […]

BY ANQI SHEN | DEC 01 2016

Nipissing University has reappointed Mike DeGagné president and vice-chancellor. His second five-year term will begin Jan. 1, 2018. Dr. DeGagné holds a PhD in educational administration and master’s degrees in administration and law. He was previously executive director of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation and is a recipient of the Order of Canada. Laurentian University has […]

BY ANQI SHEN | NOV 03 2016

Cheryl Sutton has been appointed Nipissing University’s vice-president, finance and administration. Ms. Sutton has more than 25 years of experience as a chartered professional accountant/certified general accountant in the public service. She joined Nipissing in 2010 as director of human resources and employee relations. In 2014, she became assistant vice-president, finance and human resources. Joseph […]

BY ANQI SHEN | OCT 03 2016

In September, Doug Puffer became Carleton University’s new director of personal and planned giving. His previous roles have included senior director, planned giving, at Simon Fraser University and senior planned giving officer at Queen’s University. Mr. Puffer is a national board member with the Canadian Association of Gift Planners and joins Carleton during the largest […]

BY ANQI SHEN | SEP 02 2016

Heather Hemming is serving as Acadia University’s acting vice-president, academic, as of July 1. A two-time graduate of the university, Dr. Hemming became a faculty member in the school of education in 1986 and was appointed director in 2000. In 2007, she was appointed dean of the faculty of professional studies, which encompasses the schools […]

BY ANQI SHEN | JUL 29 2016

Kevin Lamoureux was named in early August associate vice-president, indigenous affairs, at the University of Winnipeg. Mr. Lamoureux is an educator, public speaker, writer and co-host of a podcast about indigenous education and politics called The Frank and Kevin Show: In Colour. He is co-chair of Manitoba’s Provincial Task Force on Educational Outcomes for Children […]

BY ANQI SHEN | JUL 04 2016

The University of Manitoba has announced a two-year extension to David Barnard’s term as president to 2020. The extension aims to provide continuity as U of M welcomes a new provost and vice-president, academic, this July and will be recruiting a new vice-president, administration, in the fall. Huntington University, a federated partner with Laurentian University, […]

BY ANQI SHEN | JUN 06 2016

Four recipients of the inaugural Governor General’s Innovation Awards, recognizing ground-breaking work in a number of areas, have a university affiliation. They are: Jeff Dahn of Dalhousie University, for his pioneering development of the lithium-ion battery; Robert Burrell of the University of Alberta, for his discovery of the world’s first therapeutic medical application of nanotechnology; […]

BY ANQI SHEN | MAY 09 2016

On May 1, Joanne Benham Rennick began a new role as executive director of Wilfrid Laurier University’s Schlegel Centre for Entrepreneurship and Social Innovation. Dr. Benham Rennick is an associate professor in global studies and has led social entrepreneurship learning opportunities at Laurier. She previously taught in Laurier Brantford’s contemporary studies program and served as […]


Michael Phair, an educator, LGBTQ activist, anti-poverty campaigner and former municipal politician, has been named chair of the board of governors at the University of Alberta. The Government of Alberta has appointed Mr. Phair for an initial term of up to three years. From 1992 to 2007, Mr. Phair was elected to Edmonton’s city council […]


The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada has named Victoria Kaspi, a professor of astrophysics and director of the Space Institute at McGill University, winner of the 2016 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. Dr. Kaspi’s study of neutron stars – the ancient remnants of the most massive stars in […]


Angelique EagleWoman is set to become the first Aboriginal woman to head a law school in Canada. A practising attorney, law professor, legal scholar and a member of the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate tribe, Ms. EagleWoman will take up the role of dean at Lakehead University’s Bora Laskin Faculty of Law in May. She is currently […]


Bioethics researcher Eric Meslin is the new president and CEO of the Council of Canadian Academies, effective Feb. 1. Dr. Meslin is the founding director of the Indiana University Center for Bioethics and associate dean of bioethics at the Indiana University School of Medicine. He has been a visiting professor at the University of Toronto, […]


Memorial University’s Gerald Anderson was appointed vice-president, indigenous, at the University of the Arctic, a co-operative network of about 150 universities, colleges and other organizations committed to higher education and research in the North. He will provide strategic oversight of UArctic’s contributions to the well-being of northern indigenous communities while continuing as director, development and […]


Ali Dastmalchian was appointed dean of the Beedie School of Business at Simon Fraser University. His appointment at SFU will begin Jan. 1, 2016. Dr. Dastmalchian is currently professor of organization studies and international business at the University of Victoria’s Gustavson School of Business. From 2002 to 2012, he was dean of the Gustavson School, […]


Ecologist Madhur Anand has been appointed interim director of the Waterloo Institute for Complexity and Innovation, based at the University of Waterloo. Dr. Anand, a poet and professor in the school of environmental sciences at the University of Guelph, specializes in complex modelling and analysis and is a past Canada Research Chair in Global Ecological […]


J. Douglas Willms, education professor and co-director of the Canadian Research Institute for Social Policy at the University of New Brunswick, was installed as president of the International Academy of Education this summer in Melbourne, Australia. The Academy is an organization based out of the Royal Academy of Science, Literature and Arts in Belgium dedicated […]


The University of Alberta appointed Heather McCaw to the position of vice-president, advancement, effective Sept. 15. Ms. McCaw is currently co-director of the University of British Columbia’s $1.5-billion fundraising and alumni engagement campaign and associate vice-president, development. Previously, she was vice-president of Give Canada Fundraising Corporation and Spectrum Marketing Corporation. Molecular biologist Philip Barker was […]


Effective July 1, Deborah Hurst is the new dean for the faculty of business at Athabasca University. She served as acting dean for two years. In 2008, Dr. Hurst became MBA program director and, in 2009, associate dean of the faculty of business. Carleton University has named Jill Lahn Stoner director of the Azrieli School […]