Skip navigation

In my opinion

BY MARY RYKOV | November 21 2019

Within academia, the professional editor is considered to be an outside, unknown and potentially dangerous entity.

BY KARL MOORE | November 15 2019

As long as you comment on areas that lie within your area of expertise, you provide a needed antidote to some of the foolishness out there.

BY JOHN BERGERON & KATHLEEN DICKSON | November 12 2019

Our emphasis on boutique funding programs, rather than open discovery science, hampers our prospects.

BY LENIN CAVALCANTI GUERRA & KEN S. COATES | November 06 2019

Finances, academic performance and a sense of belonging may all be factors in whether or students finish their post-secondary studies.

BY MARC SPOONER | October 22 2019

Tying a significant portion of funding to any specific set of metrics places undue pressure on universities, and impinges on their traditional mission and collegial autonomy.

BY CATHARINE MUNN | October 11 2019

Every person on a university campus has a part to play.

BY ASHLEY ROSE MEHLENBACHER | October 08 2019

The internet has changed the way scientists communicate with their funders, the public and each other.

BY IRA ROBINSON | October 04 2019

This definition was drawn up with great care by 33 countries, and with the usual negotiation and compromise common to all international agreements.

BY JAMIE CASSELS & ASIMA VEZINA | September 26 2019

We must acknowledge the difficulty of the work ahead, but not be deterred by it.

BY FARAH QAISER, FRANK TELFER, KIMBERLY GIRLING, BENSUN FONG, IMOGEN COE & TINA GRUOSSO | September 13 2019

Science is rarely a key issue during federal elections – and we think this needs to change.

BY JEFFREY SACHS | September 10 2019

The definition adopted from the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance is alarmingly vague and easily misinterpreted.

BY JULIE TALBOT & JULIEN ARSENAULT | September 05 2019

Researchers are keen to travel abroad but air transport makes a significant contribution to global greenhouse gas emissions.

BY CHERYL FOY | August 29 2019

In a world of increasing legal risks and fiduciary obligations, it is difficult to understand why a university would do without one.

BY RYAN BULLOCK | August 21 2019

The blinded review process, paired with our snide internet culture, encourages boorish and unethical behaviour.

BY KATHLEEN BORTOLIN | August 13 2019

We have to start being more intentional and transparent in promoting and celebrating empathy, inclusivity and kindness on our campuses.

BY BETH ARCHER-KUHN & DERRICK RANCOURT | August 05 2019

Explicitly teaching graduate students project management – a skill set they typically learn through trial and error – could mean better research and employability.

BY STEFAN LESLIE & HEATHER DESSERUD | July 31 2019

To find value in scientific research, we need to understand and respect the social environment in which it occurs.

BY DARCIA ROACHE | July 24 2019

When leaders show employees they care, trust and empathize with their situations, it motivates employee performance and commitment.

BY ALI NAJAF | July 22 2019

A few suggestions based on my own experience.

BY THOMAS DURCAN | July 16 2019

I’m giving my lab’s standard methods away over the next year – making them available to anyone who would like to access them.