Skip navigation

IN MY OPINION

By CATHARINE MUNN | October 11 2019

Every person on a university campus has a part to play.

By ASHLEY ROSE MEHLENBACHER | October 08 2019

The internet has changed the way scientists communicate with their funders, the public and each other.

By IRA ROBINSON | October 04 2019

This definition was drawn up with great care by 33 countries, and with the usual negotiation and compromise common to all international agreements.

By JAMIE CASSELS & ASIMA VEZINA | September 26 2019

We must acknowledge the difficulty of the work ahead, but not be deterred by it.

By FARAH QAISER, FRANK TELFER, KIMBERLY GIRLING, BENSUN FONG, IMOGEN COE & TINA GRUOSSO | September 13 2019

Science is rarely a key issue during federal elections – and we think this needs to change.

By JEFFREY SACHS | September 10 2019

The definition adopted from the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance is alarmingly vague and easily misinterpreted.

By JULIE TALBOT & JULIEN ARSENAULT | September 05 2019

Researchers are keen to travel abroad but air transport makes a significant contribution to global greenhouse gas emissions.

By CHERYL FOY | August 29 2019

In a world of increasing legal risks and fiduciary obligations, it is difficult to understand why a university would do without one.

By RYAN BULLOCK | August 21 2019

The blinded review process, paired with our snide internet culture, encourages boorish and unethical behaviour.

By KATHLEEN BORTOLIN | August 13 2019

We have to start being more intentional and transparent in promoting and celebrating empathy, inclusivity and kindness on our campuses.

By BETH ARCHER-KUHN & DERRICK RANCOURT | August 05 2019

Explicitly teaching graduate students project management – a skill set they typically learn through trial and error – could mean better research and employability.

By STEFAN LESLIE & HEATHER DESSERUD | July 31 2019

To find value in scientific research, we need to understand and respect the social environment in which it occurs.

By DARCIA ROACHE | July 24 2019

When leaders show employees they care, trust and empathize with their situations, it motivates employee performance and commitment.

By ALI NAJAF | July 22 2019

A few suggestions based on my own experience.

By THOMAS DURCAN | July 16 2019

I’m giving my lab’s standard methods away over the next year – making them available to anyone who would like to access them.

By JASMEET BAHIA | July 02 2019

Systemic racism is in the very foundations of universities; its influence is insidious and persistent.

By ROBERTA K. TIMOTHY | June 19 2019

Individualizing racial profiling in media misses the point of systemic violence.

By CORINNE MAURICE, KATHERINE AMATO, JOEL ZYLBERBERG & GABRIELA SCHLAU-COHEN | June 13 2019

A successful career in STEM, combined with fulfilling parenting, should be sustainable.

By JULIA BOUGHNER | June 11 2019

We can’t apply knowledge that we don’t have. And to have knowledge, we must create, reveal or discover it.

By JOE HENRY | June 05 2019

His words can help us build a more just and fairer student experience for all.