Skip navigation

IN MY OPINION

By RYAN BULLOCK | August 21 2019

The blinded review process, paired with our snide internet culture, encourages boorish and unethical behaviour.

By KATHLEEN BORTOLIN | August 13 2019

We have to start being more intentional and transparent in promoting and celebrating empathy, inclusivity and kindness on our campuses.

By BETH ARCHER-KUHN & DERRICK RANCOURT | August 05 2019

Explicitly teaching graduate students project management – a skill set they typically learn through trial and error – could mean better research and employability.

By STEFAN LESLIE & HEATHER DESSERUD | July 31 2019

To find value in scientific research, we need to understand and respect the social environment in which it occurs.

By DARCIA ROACHE | July 24 2019

When leaders show employees they care, trust and empathize with their situations, it motivates employee performance and commitment.

By ALI NAJAF | July 22 2019

A few suggestions based on my own experience.

By THOMAS DURCAN | July 16 2019

I’m giving my lab’s standard methods away over the next year – making them available to anyone who would like to access them.

By JASMEET BAHIA | July 02 2019

Systemic racism is in the very foundations of universities; its influence is insidious and persistent.

By ROBERTA K. TIMOTHY | June 19 2019

Individualizing racial profiling in media misses the point of systemic violence.

By CORINNE MAURICE, KATHERINE AMATO, JOEL ZYLBERBERG & GABRIELA SCHLAU-COHEN | June 13 2019

A successful career in STEM, combined with fulfilling parenting, should be sustainable.

By JULIA BOUGHNER | June 11 2019

We can’t apply knowledge that we don’t have. And to have knowledge, we must create, reveal or discover it.

By JOE HENRY | June 05 2019

His words can help us build a more just and fairer student experience for all.

By BRYN WILLIAMS-JONES, FRANÇOIS-JOSEPH LAPOINTE, PHILIPPE GAUTHIER, CYNTHIA NOURY, MARIANNE CLOUTIER & MARIE-CHRISTINE ROY | June 04 2019

Research-creation involves researchers who are also pursuing creative activities such as music, dance or design.

By CALJ BOARD OF DIRECTORS | May 28 2019

Canadian publishers produce more than 200 scholarly journals, many bilingual and some more than 100 years old.

By ROHINI BANNERJEE | May 22 2019

The challenges of being true to oneself while representing the collective.

By LEO GROARKE | April 29 2019

Why hiring committees are in the best position to make an informed decision.

By SHAUN KHOO | April 23 2019

Recognizing the symptoms is the first step in treating the problem.

By BRENDA WINGFIELD & BOB MILLAR | April 17 2019

Publication costs can eat into whatever precious grant funding researchers get.

By DIANE BARBARIČ | April 09 2019

The recent budget announcement means Canadian students won’t be left behind when it comes to studying abroad.

By TANYA CHICHEKIAN | April 03 2019

Skills of well-being have been forgotten partly due to a combination of educational reforms and societal pressures.